natnelson19

Home » MOOCs (massive open on-line courses) » #edcmooc » Learning later in life

Learning later in life

I have signed up for about 10 coursera courses. I seem to have become addicted to learning which may have coincided with my new (ish) job at an academy.

I also think that learning and education is sometimes better done as an adult. I did enjoy learning when I was a child but I had zero confidence and gave up as soon as I thought I would fail something. Hence my education is based on lots of half finished subjects. I did finish my a levels and my degree but along the way I started lots of courses which were soon dropped.

As an adult I can really appreciate education and am grateful for the chance to take free, well run courses i can fit in around work. I am being given a chance to study things I would never consider (greek mythology, animal behaviour and intro to european law) as well as things I wish I had paid better attention to at school (planet earth and Ancient Greece).

Here’s to my second course and second chance at education.

Leave a Reply

