natnelson19

Home » walking » 24 Hour Walk Round The Island – Update

24 Hour Walk Round The Island – Update

We set off from West Cowes at 4am at a 4mph pace which didn’t really ease off until 4 hours later in Yarmouth.

20130519-160745.jpg
Nearing Yarmouth

My plan was of course to complete the whole 73 miles. However, I knew that this was a bit unrealistic. My average comfortable walking distance is about 25 miles so it’s a big leap.

Anyway, I didn’t complete it because of bad feet and I felt very disappointed at first. I have had time to reflect and feel less bad about not completing. I did 32 miles which is about 5 or 6 miles more than last year, at least it’s heading in the right direction.

20130519-160934.jpg
This sight was a real moral boost

It has spurred me into action and I need to start planning more regular long distance walks. I walk every day as we don’t drive but this is usually only 1-3 miles a day. I have also been toying with the idea of running for a while but lack the confidence. I think planning for the next big walk will give me the boost I need.

What I am proud of is being part of a great walking team. We do all sorts of walks and we have become good friends. As well as walking we have some laughs, great conversations, food and beer.

Here’s to the next walk!

Leave a Reply

