natnelson19

Home » MOOCs (massive open on-line courses) » My Top Three Innovations

My Top Three Innovations

www.kaufmanrossin.com by Janet Kyle Altman

http://www.kaufmanrossin.com by Janet Kyle Altman

I have started a new MOOC called Surviving Disruptive Technologies. I hadn’t planned to do this one but the subject interests me.  It wasn’t until a couple of years ago that I even knew what a Disruptive Technology was or that I used them every day; iDevices, digital camera, the Internet and so on.  According to Clayton Christensen a Disruptive technology is a

process by which a product or service takes root initially in simple applications at the bottom of a market and then relentlessly moves up market, eventually displacing established competitors

This course doesn’t include weekly quizzes like a lot of MOOCS (also a Disruptive Technology) but instead uses weekly assignments. I will be using this blog to post the assignments. The first one is to;

Conduct research on the Internet on innovations, and post your favorite three innovations in the last 25 years and why they are your favorites.

I have to be honest this was not difficult but before I outline mine I had a quick look to see what others thought. This article on Inc. looks at the 12 top Disruptive Technologies as reported by McKinsey Global Institute, I think what amazed me more than the list, no major surprises there, were the predictions . According to McKinsey the total potential impact of these DTs could be between $14 trillion and $33 trillion a year by 2025 so, as we learn in the Surviving Disruptive Technologies MOOC, DTs should not be ignored, underestimated or dismissed as a fad.

For me the first thing that pops into my head when thinking of innovations from the last 25 years is the Internet/wifi. For anyone reading this there is probably no reason to explain why this is one of the top ones. I do feel I should be talking about the invention of a life saving drug or something else that has saved lives or ended poverty. However, I have opted for things that have changed my life and which I use on a regular basis. The internet is definitely the top one. I use it every day to read, keep up to date, make contact, work, study, watch TV, store photos, music and much more.

MOOCs/On-line learning would be my second. I first heard of these about 2 years ago and haven’t looked back. I have taken courses on Greek Mythology, the Holocaust, Art, Education, Psychology and many more. These courses enable me to study things I have always wanted to do but could never afford to or have the time to. They have also allowed me to make friends and connections with people from all over the world.

Google is my final choice (I say final as if that was it. Clearly, I could go on forever but have been limited to three for the purpose of this assignment). I use Gmail, G+ for social networking and email. At work we are also about to transfer to Google which means we will be using it for diary management (I am a PA so this is a big part of the job), email and for managing our website. I was a little concerned about putting all my eggs in one basket but Google is good at what it does so why not.

Here are some links to other important innovations. Which three would you choose?

Popular Science

Forbes

ComplexTech


3 Comments

  1. essgarland says:

    Another Interesting Mooc will be interesting to see what you think about DT’s at the end of the course … I was going to get in touch to see if you wanted to join us on #xplrpln but you will be too busy. 🙂 have fun Mooc’ing, Ess

  2. essgarland says:

    Sorry Nat I dont’ check my blog enough but that will change when uni stops soon.. here is the link to #xplrpln http://mslocopen.wordpress.com/ About exploring Personal Learning Networks. What they are.. how they fit in with work and there are quite a few edcmoocs on which is nice too. Hope your disruptive technologies is going well!

Leave a comment